Friday, February 06, 2004

Another Friday Five already? Yikes!!

1. What's the most daring thing you've ever done?

Although I didn’t consider it risky, I know that my friends and family thought it was: shacking up with Mark a few weeks after we met for the first time. I think that when something feels right, you have to trust your instincts and just go for it.

2. What one thing would you like to try that your mother/friend/significant other would never approve of?

I can’t think of anything really. There isn’t anything that I might want to try in the future that Mark wouldn’t be totally supportive of. My mother, on the other hand, is a different story. I think when you’re a grown-up, the less your folks know about what you actually get upto on a regular basis, the better.

3. On a scale of 1-10, what's your risk factor? (1=never take risks, 10=it's a lifestyle)

Probably a 7, I guess.

4. What's the best thing that's ever happened to you as a result of being bold/risky?

Mark and I are in the middle of living happily ever after.

5. ... and what's the worst?

Honestly, I can’t think of a thing. I guess it’s because I’m basically an optimist so if something doesn’t go my way, I try to chalk it up as experience and learn from it. That probably sounds really corny but it’s true!

Thursday, February 05, 2004

A friend sent me this today and I loved it so much I thought I'd share it!

Things You'd Love to Say Out Loud at Work

1. I can see your point, but I still think you're full of shit.

2. I don't know what your problem is, but I'll bet it's hard to pronounce.

3. How about never? Is never good for you?

4. I see you've set aside this special time to humiliate yourself in public.

5. I'm really easy to get along with once you people learn to see it my way.

6. I'll try being nicer if you'll try being smarter.

7. I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message.

8. I don't work here. I'm a consultant.

9. It sounds like English, but I can't understand a damn word you're saying.

10. Ahhh...I see the screw-up fairy has visited us again...

11. I like you. You remind me of myself when I was young and stupid.

12. You are validating my inherent mistrust of strangers.

13. I have plenty of talent and vision; I just don't give a damn.

14. I'm already visualizing the duct tape over your mouth.

15. I will always cherish the initial misconceptions I had about you

16. Thank you. We're all refreshed and challenged by your unique point of view.

17. The fact that no one understands you doesn't mean you're an artist.

18. Any connection between your reality and mine is purely coincidental.

19. What am I? Flypaper for freaks!?

20. I'm not being rude. You're just insignificant.

21. It's a thankless job, but I've got a lot of Karma to burn off.

22. Yes, I am an agent of Satan, but my duties are largely ceremonial.

23. And your crybaby whiny-assed opinion would be...?

24. Do I look like a people person?

25. This isn't an office. It's Hell with fluorescent lighting.

26. I started out with nothing & still have most of it left.

27. Sarcasm is just one more service we offer.

28. If I throw a stick, will you leave?

29. Errors have been made. Others will be blamed.

30. Whatever kind of look you were going for, you missed.

31. I'm trying to imagine you with a personality.

32. A cubicle is just a padded cell without a door.

33. Can I trade this job for what's behind door #1?

34. Too many freaks, not enough circuses.

35. Nice perfume. Must you marinate in it?

36. Chaos, panic, & disorder-my work here is done.

37. How do I set a laser printer to stun?

38. I thought I wanted a career; turns out I just wanted a salary.

39. Who lit the fuse on your tampon?

40. Oh I get it... like humour... but different.

Wednesday, February 04, 2004

I have been thinking a lot lately about how many passwords and userids we all have to use on a daily basis. It's a little weird isn't it? I mean, our (well, my anyway) grandparents (or great-grandparents) never had to keep track of what password goes with which login for which thing...nevermind pin's and stuff like that.

We got a shitload of snow yesterday. It was that wet, heavy kind of snow. The kind that is just torture to shovel. Last night when we got home from work, we shoveled the driveway as the snow was falling. I'm glad we did because it was filled in again this morning. Overnight, the temperature dropped a bit and the wet snow froze so it's really heavy and icy now. Fun huh?? This morning I did my best but didn't have time to get the whole driveway done. I did manage to get the cars dug out and the bottom of the driveway cleaned up, of course, by the time I go downstairs in a few minutes, I'm sure that the plow will have been by and filled it back in for me. The city is so nice about that!! At least we're not due any more snow for a couple of days. We've done a lot more shovelling this winter than we have the past couple of years. I don't mind too much, at least when you get a day's break between sessions. It's just brutal though when you're out there moving snow around every 8 to 12 hours.

Even though we've had a lot of shovelling to do this winter, I still don't think I'd want to go south for a break. I know some folks who are either in the south right now or who have just returned and I think it would just make the winter harder to get through somehow. I can't imagine being somewhere warm and sunny for a week and flying back into a snow storm. That would just be unbearable to me. Of course, going south for a retreat isn't in the budget this year anyway so it's not something I have to worry about. Besides, there are more important things to worry about anyway, like Janet Jackson's booby, right? Talk about a slow news week huh? I thought that the whole "bennifer" thing was over the top, this is just silly. Kind of makes me wonder though if the stunt wasn't deliberately planned to take the media focus off of her brother for a few days. Only Ms Jackson knows for sure I guess.

Monday, February 02, 2004

I'm back to work today and feeling the closest thing to normal that I've felt in a week. I must admit though, at the moment, I'm dog tired and have a headache. I just finished eating my lunch though so I'm hoping that this will pass.

Being flat out sick for a week can really take it out of you. I really thought (ha!) that I'd be feeling 100% better today because that's what I wanted. Well, some things you can't force so I guess I'll be continuing to take it easy for the next few days.

Other than being sick, there is literally nothing else going on right now. I've been stuck in the house for basically the whole week, except on Thursday and Friday when I ventured out to work, and for 2 hours on Saturday when I was running errands. I know that some folks claim to get cabin fever when they are stuck inside that long but I really didn't mind it. I could have hibernated all this week too if I had a choice.

I think I'm actually adjusted to the cold now though. I guess that does happen when it's bitterly cold for weeks on end. The sun's shining today and it's just gorgeous outside, pretty and sparkley and bright. I heard that Wiarton Willie saw his shadow this morning but I never figure that it makes much difference. One way or the other, we're going to have 6 more weeks of winter, shadow or no shadow! My advice is to suck it up folks, you're in Canada!

Sunday, February 01, 2004

Except for the Friday Five, I've not written anything here all week. I have a very good excuse though, our computer is not in my bed or in our bathroom!

I have been sick as the proverbial dog for almost a week. Finally, today, I've actually felt pretty good and been able to keep food down. For the better part of a week, I felt like crap. Not truly horrible, just off, you know? Well last Monday, I got up and worked out, ate my breakfast and then headed up to have a shower. By the time I got to the top of the stairs, I thought I'd been hit by a bus. It was horrible. I was violently sick for most of Monday night and proceeded to spend Tuesday and Wednesday either in bed or on the toilet. Not pretty, not one little bit!! I had no appetite and couldn't really sleep properly. When I did eat, the most exotic thing I could get down was chicken soup (hey, it is exotic compared to dry toast and ginger ale!!).

Thursday I was feeling a bit better and went back to work. I really shouldn't have done that though because I was sick again that night and most of Friday. I did go in on Friday too but only for a really short period of time. Yesterday was a write-off too. Today though, it's been amazing. I really think you get sick like that so that you'll have a better appreciation for how good "normal" feels. I'm still seriously watching what I'm eating but I think that the worst of it is well behind me now. I'm actually looking forward to getting back into my exercise routine again tomorrow and to going back to work!